Bruce Sterling heard of seen at conference

“”We’ve made this problem, Sterling tells us, and now it’s up to us to design our way out of it — not by denying ourselves modernity but by embracing a more intelligent version of it.”

reason: You were upbeat about the Internet bubble. You don’t think it was based on irrational exuberance?

Sterling: I don’t think it was an irrational exuberance. Some of it was irrational — clearly there was a lot of embezzlement going on, buddyism on Wall Street, your basic Enron shenanigans. But computation and ubiquitous sensors and ubiquitous communication offer the opportunity to reform the industrial base along cybernetic and post-industrial lines. Should that be allowed to happen, it will bring a lot of prosperity. But I think we made really serious missteps in 2000 and 2001, and we’ve really turned our backs on a world that could have been pleasant, delight-ful, peaceful, and technocratic. Now we face a world that is religious, narrow-minded, fundamentalist, and violent.”//reason

(((The odds are quite good that someday Carla Sarkozy will be First Lady of Europe. And that’s gonna be a really pretty interesting future version of Europe.)))//wired

Bruce Sterling in Wiesbaden, schön auf dem Schemel, mit Kippe, werde ich es sehen, sobald mein Rechner Kapazität hat, den Stream zu verarbeiten . Meine Informationsquelle (Konferenzgebühr!) sagte, der eigentliche Vortrag sei etwas schwerfällig dahergekommen, der carbon footprint, die persönlichen Verschmutzungsrechte, die nicht ganz so unbeschwerte Feierei, (es war eine Veranstaltung einer Agentur),… Faszinierend ist er, zwischen lässig und schäbig gekleidet, wenn es aus ihm heraussprudelt, druckreif, frei von der Leber..nach meinem Verständnis. Ich spazierte an der Party vorüber. Viele Menschen. Ich spaziere durch die kühle Nacht. Mir war nicht  nach Vergnügungsprogramm. Ich habe mich gut amüsiert.

Bruce Sterling, author of Zeitgeist, Distraction, Holy Fire, Heavy Weather, Schismatrix, The Hacker Crackdown, co-author of The Difference Engine, editor of Mirrorshades

About

human being

Tagged with:
Posted in Weiterbildung
2 comments on “Bruce Sterling heard of seen at conference
  1. Chris says:

    Schon genial, der Kerl. Das schmunzeln, dass mag ich.

  2. nexuslex says:

    Der sagt manchmal Sachen, die sind völlig haarsträubend, in einem Tonfall, wie ein Komiker im WerbeTV, der sich den sarkastischen Unterton nicht verkneifen kann. Ich lach so gern, in letzter Zeit

Leave a Reply

wired at heart weird on top
Tears in Rain
  • nl
    nexuslex posted a new favorite picture (via):
  • unknown
    nexuslex posted a new favorite picture (via):
